## MACON COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Recount Board Meeting, 2 June 2022

Participants: Director Melanie Thibault, Deputy Director Judy Fritts, John Williams, Gary Dills, Kathy Tinsley, Jeff Gillette and John Vanhook. Lynn Garrison was unable to attend

Observers: Bobby Coggins, Hazel Norris, Danny Prince, Rebecca Prince, Mia Overton, Brent Holbrooks, Dereck Jones. Belinda Gaines, Sabra Scott, Faith Scott, Bob Cook, Doug Battles, Pam Battles, Verlin Carpenter, Keith White, E.S. Inka, Traci Chastain, Jim Garner, U. Deruk, Bill Crawford

Call to Order: The Chair convened the meeting at 0900 AM at the Carpenter Center. The purpose of the meeting is to recount the votes in all precincts for the Sheriff's race.

- 1. Thirty-Three volunteer poll workers performed the recount with the Board overseeing and comparing the original tabulations to the recount tabulation.
- 2. The recount at all but two precincts were the same. The recount in Burningtown precinct resulted in one fewer vote for Mr. Holbrooks. The recount in the one-stop Franklin precinct resulted in one fewer vote for Mr. Jones. The result was no change in votes between the candidates. Mr. Holbrook won the Republican nomination for Sheriff and consequently is elected Sheriff. Mr Jones and Mr Holbrook thanked the Board and volunteers for their professional approach to the recount.
- 3. With the recount complete, the Chair adjourned the meeting until 13 June at 3PM in the Board room.